President Creates Affordable Housing Council |

President Trump signed an Executive Order that will focus on eliminating barriers that limit access to affordable housing: namely zoning laws, environmental regulations, building codes and lengthy building permit processes.

The Council will consist of members from eight Federal agencies. These members will engage with government leaders and elected officials from across the country in the effort to identify and eliminate the “obstacles that impede the production of affordable homes.”

Secretary Ben Carson will lead the council. In all, the Departments of Treasury, Agriculture, Interior, Labor, Transportation, Energy and Environmental Protection will be represented on the panel.

This content was originally published here.